Earlier this week I read a story about Xiaomi on GizChina, and since then I’ve been getting notifications pop up on my computer that all seem to be to do with Chinese tech. A quick browse to the Chrome settings and there’s my answer: like an idiot I’ve enabled notifications for GizChina. That’s not something I intended to do, admittedly, but it’s easily done. Often when visiting a website you are prompted to block or allow notifications, and if you press the wrong option you won’t know until you’re already receiving them. Good job it’s easy to fix.

Turn off desktop notifications in Google Chrome

(Block will stop them sending you notifications, while Allow will mean you are prompted for permission to send notifications next time you visit that site.) Read next: What’s the best web browser? Marie is Editor in Chief of Tech Advisor and Macworld. A Journalism graduate from the London College of Printing, she’s worked in tech media for more than 17 years, managing our English language, French and Spanish consumer editorial teams and leading on content strategy through Foundry’s transition from print, to digital, to online - and beyond.